Nigeria sanctions 88 broadcast stations

Share this story

By Chinedu James

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has sanctioned 88 radio and television stations across the country for violations of the Nigeria Broadcasting Code in the fourth quarter (Q4) of 2017. The erring stations received a fine of over 11 million naira for various breaches and unwholesome broadcasting.

Mrs. Maimuna Jimada, Head of Public Affairs, NBC, in a statement in Abuja expressed the displeasure of the commission with regards to the offences of the deviant stations which includes playing music with vulgar lyrics, broadcasting political campaigns before stipulated time, hate speeches and showing of unverifiable miracle claims, among others.

“The Commission wishes to re-iterate to all broadcasters that they have a duty to promote the socio-economic well-being of the Nigerian state and abide strictly by the provisions of the Nigeria Broadcasting Code”, she said.

According to her, the sanctioned stations cut across almost all the six geopolitical zones of the country as 19 stations were fined N2.1m in Abuja Zone, three stations were fined N400,000 in Benin Zone, while 20 stations were fined N2.225m in Enugu Zone.

About 12 stations were fined N1.35m at the Kaduna Zone, just as three stations got a fine of N1.05m in the Lagos Zone. Also, 12 stations were fined N1.3m in Ibadan Zone, one station was fined N100, 000 at the Jos Zone, while three stations were fined N300, 000 at the Maiduguri Zone.

While there were no breaches recorded in Sokoto Zone within the period under review, about 12 stations were fined N1.6m at the Uyo Zone.

Share this story

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *