Abdul-Hakeem Ajijola named among IFSEC Global Influencers Security & Fire 2020

Share this story

Nigerian cyber security expert and Chair, African Union Cyber Security Expert Group, Abdul-Hakeem Ajijola, has been named one of the IFSEC Global security & fire influencers for 2020.

IFSEC Global is a leading provider of news for the security and fire industries. Based in the UK, IFSEC Global is also associated with IFSEC International, the UK and Europe’s leading integrated security event.

According to James Moore, Editor, IFSEC Global, the 2020 winners were chosen based on nominations judged by a panel of highly respected judges, the influencers span seven categories, with nominees and winners coming from across the globe.

In all, four Nigerians were recognized in the IFSEC Global influencers in security and fire 2020. They include Victoria Ogbuehi, Security Operations, Coca-Cola HBC Nigeria. Ogbuehi is a Nigerian security and intelligence expert. She transitioned from a government law enforcement agency to Corporate security management in 2019. She is currently responsible for the security operations of Coca-Cola HBC in four Nigerian states.

Also on the list is Dr. McLean Stanley Essiene, an ex-Nigeria Immigration Service officer. He is the CEO of  ESSIMACS International Security, a Nigerian based commercial security company involved in security management consultancy and certifications training programmes. Lastly in the Cyber Security Professionals category is Nkiruka Aimienoho. She currently leads PwC’s cyber security, privacy, and business resilience services in Nigeria.

See full list of 2020 winners here.

IFSEC Global security & fire influencers 2020 – the categories include: Commercial Security – End users (including Security Directors/Heads of Security); Commercial Security – Security Executives; Commercial Security – Association Figures/Academics/Thought Leaders; Cyber Security Professionals; One to Watch – Security; Commercial Security – Manufacturers/Vendors/Integrators/Installers; and lastly, Fire Safety (primarily UK-based)

In the words of Moore, “We defined ‘influence’ in the following ways:

  • Someone who has played a key role in driving technological innovation
  • Someone who has been a driving force in changing regulation, standards/guidance or best practice
  • Someone whose insights/opinions are widely respected and which are influential in shaping debate around industry issues
  • Someone who has been instrumental in the success of the organisation or business they lead or are employed by
  • Someone who has helped to raise the industry’s profile or been an influential voice in the national media

Ajijola is concurrently: Chair, African Union Cyber Security Expert Group (AUCSEG) – African Union Commission; Chair, Working Group on Cyber Incident Management and Critical Information Protection of Global Forum on Cyber Expertise. He is listed on the UNODA Roster of Experts for an online training course in “Cyber-diplomacy.”; and is a Commissioner at Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace.

His profile also states him as a Resource Person, ITU Arab Regional Cyber Security Centre through Oman National CERT (OCERT), Oman; Resource person, South East Asia Regional Centre for Counter-Terrorism, Malaysia. He is a founding member Organisation of Islamic Cooperation – Computer Emergency Response Team and Chairman, Consultancy Support Services (CS2) Ltd., a Nigerian Cyber Security, e-Library and ICT Policy Consultancy Firm.

He is currently working to kick-start the development of an Africa Cybersecurity Economic sub-sector employing knowledge workers who will profitably drive cyber security solutions value chains to solve current and future problems.

Members of the judging panel include some of the most respected figures from the IT security industry, policy making bodies and academia. Below are the list of judges for the 2020 IFSEC Global Influencers in Security and Fire 2020. Find out more about each judge, here.

Head Judge: Grant Lecky

  • Baroness Ruth Henig (UK)
  • Mark Folmer (Canada)
  • Mari Galloway (USA)
  • Chris Cubbage (Australia)
  • Chuck Brooks (USA)
  • Jason Cherrington (New Zealand)
  • Dr. Nacira Salvan (France)
  • Rick Mounfield (UK)
  • Roberto Manunta (Cyprus)
  • Shira Rubinoff (USA)
  • Rita Whittle (Canada)
  • Benjamin Chidyamato (Ivory Coast)
  • Biljana Cerin (Croatia)
  • Michael Gips (USA)
  • Roy Cooper (UK)
  • Kim Loy (USA)
  • Douglas Mapuranga (Zimbabwe)
  • Dr. Lopa Mudraa Basuu (India)
  • Phédra Clouner (Belgium)
  • Pablo D. Correnti (Argentina)

Share this story

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *